Today I’m bringing you all a review of Clytemnestra’s Bind as part of @TheWriteReads tour! Just a disclaimer that I am posting a review for the tour, but I actually got the book for my birthday so the copy was not gifted.

As someone who studied Classics, I’m very familiar with Greek mythology. I have read quite a few myth retellings over the years, and I am pleased to say that Clytemnestra’s Bind is a new favourite. There are often many different versions of Greek myths, which can make it difficult to consolidate a single story. However, I found that Wilson offered an emotional portrayal of Clytemnestra which felt so human, and I feel as if I have never felt so connected to her before.

The story begins with her marriage to Tantalus, and develops to show the trauma she experienced which came along with her subsequent marriage to Agamemnon. This choice in itself is unusual for retellings, so I really appreciated this focus on different aspects of Clytemnestra’s earlier life. I loved that the author chose to focus on Clytemnestra’s story up to the events of Aulis, because this allowed her to explore Clytemnestra in a more in depth manner before upcoming life-changing events. For those who are unfamiliar with her story, I would recommend reading the Oresteia and Iphigenia at Aulis.

I found the depiction of Aegisthus very interesting as well, particularly in comparison to Agamemnon. The systemic disregard for women was so frustrating, and this made certain developments satisfying to read about, even though I know how Clytemnestra’s story will ultimately end.

I read Clytemnestra’s Bind in one day and the emotional connection I experienced really stuck with me. There is a considerable amount of focus on Iphigenia, Electra, and Orestes, and I found their different personalities to be very significant. Even though I am very familiar with Greek mythology, I appreciated all the detail, and I would also recommend this to those who know little about Clytemnestra. The pace is slow and allows you to really get to know Clytemnestra as a character, and the writing really stuck with me. I can’t wait to read more by Wilson in the future!

Thanks once again to @TheWriteReads for having me on the tour – be sure to check out other reviews!

5/5 stars!