Before I review this book, I should probably mention it has taken me a year and a half to read this series. I read vampire academy summer of 2015 but didn’t have any of the other books. I started frostbite and read all the others until I got 200 pages into spirit bound and stopped

reading it January 2016 due to exams. Finally, I finished the final book in January 2017. It might come as a surprise that I loved this series. I do regret that I read them over a long period due to forgetting parts of the earlier books and who some characters were, but if I had reread them there would have been no issues.

Warning: spoilers ahead. Last Sacrifice wrapped the series up well for me, although I was slightly underwhelmed by the ending because I thought the story was going to go further and I would have enjoyed seeing Lissa as Queen, although I suppose that is part of the Bloodlines series. I knew from the start Lissa was going to end up as Queen as it was quite obvious but I still liked seeing the process.

One thing that did shock me was Jill being Lissa’s sister. I was not expecting Jill to be the child. Honestly, I was expecting some character we had never met before but this was far more interesting and when it led to Rose and Dimitri’s escape. I would have liked to have seen Lissa and Jill’s relationship become closer but I thought Lissa’s reaction was interesting and unexpected towards Jill as it put a bad name on her father and she didn’t want to think about that.

One thing I just could not stand was that Rose cheated on Adrian. Yes, I liked her with Dimitri; I also liked her with Adrian. I think she definitely did love Dimitri more but she should not have cheated on Adrian. I thought everything would be fine and she would tell him in that dream, but she decided not to! Telling him in a dream before wouldn’t have been ideal but at least she would have told him and he wouldn’t have found out by seeing them kiss. I think deep down Adrian suspected this would happen all along, and so I completely understand his reaction whereas Rose was just being stupid.

However, the biggest shock was Tasha Ozera. I always liked her, but when it was revealed she killed Tatiana it did make sense. The worst part, for me, was that she was Christian’s aunt and he didn’t want to believe it.

Overall I did really enjoy this book although Rose annoyed me at times and I could’ve done with a reread of the other books first! To be honest, I could barely put this book down and it has left me engaged enough to want to continue in this world and read Bloodlines.

4.5/5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️